How to Make a Mad Max Car

I was recently inspired to create a Mad Max themed car for a game I designed. Looking around I found an old low-quality Hot Wheels car.

IMG_7957

The first step was to take the car apart; I used a dremel to cut the bottom of the car off, however, this could have easily have been accomplished with a knife.IMG_7959

The first thing to do was to customize the body. I added a ram to the front made out of some wood scraps I had lying around. Then I added armor to the front wheels, made with some thin plastic, and attached with super glue to look like welding. The spikes were done with more wood. I drilled and added a piece of round sprue for a tailpipe, and added on a Lego piece for part of a motor.IMG_7961

I then customized the undercarriage with the addition of wheel spikes made out of yet more wood.IMG_7962

Then I moved to the windshield. I started by fogging up the entire windshield with a fine grit sandpaper.  Then I added a piece of plastic and some paper for a more armored feel.IMG_7963

I then added bullet holes with a small drill bit and a knife.IMG_7964

Then the pieces were primed for painting.IMG_7965

The car was then test-fitted before painting.IMG_7966

I started with a Ceramcoat Grey Drizzle undercoat and then a 4:1:2 mix of Silver, Ceramcoat Black, and a brown.IMG_7967

To brighten it up I drybrushed with a bright silver.IMG_7968

Then a heavy blackwash was applied to the entire model.IMG_7969

Then a heavy coat of rust and Testors Dullcote to finish the model.IMG_7970

Final images of the car – Ready to roam the wastes at high speed!IMG_7971.JPGIMG_7972.JPG

Until next time,

– MinisMuse

2 thoughts on “How to Make a Mad Max Car

  1. The rust came out nice. I’ve been messing around lately with rust effects, and it is something I’m still very much where I’m very much still in the beginning learning stages.

    Like

Leave a Reply to This Post

